Skip to content

birthday wisdom

July 27, 2012

No one at work knew it was my birthday last year, and I had fun keeping my little secret.  Several of my co-workers are aware of today’s significance, so it’s not much of a secret anymore.  Hard as it may be for you to believe, Reader, I get kinda shy about my birthday.  I don’t know why… I just do.  I like keeping things low key, which you wouldn’t know since I’m having a birthday celebration over at Dance Immaculata today (head on over… you’re invited!).

I have realized though that it isn’t all about me – well, it is and it isn’t.  My birthday is the reason family and friends mark July 27 on their calendar, so that part is about me.  But I personally would rather people not make a big fuss about it.  I don’t like putting anyone out or making people feel obligated or anything.  And yet I realize it would be very selfish of me to dictate how my loved ones express their love and appreciation for me.  That’s the part that’s not about me.  It’s about others.

For the most part, those who are closest to me actually take me into consideration when it comes to my birthday.  Karl, for example, knows I prefer small gatherings while he prefers large ones, but he planned a quiet gathering for tomorrow with his family and a few friends.  On the other hand, I felt a little bad for steering clear of the July Birthday celebration at work today.  Sure it was for all the birthdays during the month, but I only interact with a handful of people at work and standing there while other co-workers, who barely acknowledge me every other day of the year, sang to me would have been pure torture.  Just the thought of it makes me queasy.  Thankfully, my work friends didn’t force me to go.  Even though they wanted to acknowledge the day (and have been), they realized that having the entire office sing to me would have done more harm than good.

For some reason this life lesson has been very apparent this year.  I’ve swallowed so much pride that my throat is starting hurt.  It isn’t easy letting people love you.  It isn’t easy trusting that they know what’s best for you.  It isn’t easy accepting their expression of love when it’s not what you think you need.  But I am surrounded by people who truly love me and have my best interest in mind when it comes to celebrating my birthday.  So who am I to get in their way of celebrating me?

Let the celebrations continue!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2012 9:34 am

    Isn’t it wonderful, though, when someone thinks of something for you that you wouldn’t have expected to enjoy? It certainly is good to leave other people room to love you. We can’t wait to celebrate you today!

Trackbacks

  1. adventures of c & k: birthday festivities « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

