Skip to content

cec in the city – episode 13

August 6, 2012

…continued from Episode 12, as my Shoe Woes pile up.

The city continues to beat up my favorite shoes, and while some of them are in desperate need of professional help, I’m still fighting back with glue and creativity!  Because of this, my good friend, Cristin, dubbed me the MacGyver of Shoes!

Fabulous shoes in my extra-small size are not easy to come by, unless I’m willing to drop $60 – $80 every few weeks to replace my current pair.  Don’t get me wrong – I am very willing to buy new shoes once a month or whenever necessary (shoes are a necessity after all – a girl can’t walk around barefoot in the city!), but my budget won’t allow it.  Believe me, I’ve done everything I can to convince Budget to let me buy all the shoes I want.  I’ve begged and pleaded and cried, to no avail.  I even batted my eyes and quivered my chin, but Budget would not budge.  So I am left to make do with the shoes I have, which are still really cute even though they are a bit worn.

My latest shoe-fix required glue, a pair of ball-of-foot cushions, and a marker.  And the adorable, comfortable black sandals with a one-and-half inch heel are as good as new!  For the most part… I thought they were goners last week, but a little ingenuity and glue has extended their life for as long as the glue holds!

I really need to find a professional cobbler before my MacGyver skills run out and I’m walking around barefoot!

Note: I do need a new pair of black shoes, which have been approved by the Budget since I need to wear black shoes for my sister’s wedding next month.  Goodness knows, these won’t be everyday city shoes!  Here are two options from Cinderella of Boston:

or

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 7:28 pm

    Peep toes!! I LOVE peep toes! But the bows on the first ones are adorable. I know I’ve said it before, but you are a good shoe shopper.

  2. August 7, 2012 9:09 am

    I love the peep toes too, but I really need a pair of closed-toe black shoes since my last pair broke beyond repair. I’m not so sure if I can pull of that high of a platform so I think I’m going to wait to see what the entire Fall/Winter line has to offer… :)

  3. Cristin permalink
    August 7, 2012 8:16 pm

    I’m so honored!!! I like the top pair IF they’re comfy…

    • August 8, 2012 9:26 am

      Thanks for the material, Cris! I’ll keep you posted on my shoe adventures. :)

Have your say...

