Skip to content

cec in the city – episode 14

August 28, 2012

Trying to find any sort of doctor has been a daunting and intimidating task which I successfully avoided until my contact supply was pretty much extinct.  I managed to find several ophthalmologists via the insurance website and picked the one with the closest office.

I took an early lunch yesterday to accommodate my appointment.  I have been working in the city well over a year and was finally going to my first doctor appointment in the urban jungle.  It had just started to rain when I left the building.  It was a steady rain, but nothing I couldn’t handle.  Still, I decided it would be better to take the train.  It was only one stop away, but the subway would be faster, especially in the rain.

By the time I got out of the subway, the steady rain had morphed into a monsoon.  Sheets of rain pounded the sidewalks so hard the water ricocheted off ground, giving the illusion that it was raining in both directions.  Add some serious wind into the gravity-defying mix and viola – monsoon.

People were huddled near the entrance of the subway.  Further down Seventh Ave through the blur of wetness, I could see people lingering under building overhangs and scaffolding, taking shelter wherever they could.  I didn’t have the luxury of waiting out the storm.  That’s life in the city, for ya!  So I took a deep breath, opened my umbrella, and used my savvy city skills to my advantage (as in waiting under scaffolding until the last possible moment before crossing the street).  I only had to go three blocks south and cross to the west side of the street to the doctor’s office, but it seemed much further.   The umbrella protected my head and most of my upper body.  There was no protecting the bottom half from the furiously rebounding raindrops.  My shoes were soaked through within two minutes, and while my skirt wasn’t soaking wet by the time I reached the building, it was rather wet.

My new eye doctor turned out to be a very kind old gentleman, and I’m not just saying that because he didn’t do the puff-of-air test or dilate my eyes.  I’m saying that because when the eye exam was over, the doc turned to me with a sweet smile and asked “Has anyone ever told you that you have an Audrey Hepburn like beauty?”  That compliment was worth a hike through a monsoon for sure!  Plus, he told me that my prescription hadn’t changed, which I also enjoyed hearing.  And though I still need to find a regular medical doctor and a dentist, one out of three isn’t so bad.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 11:14 am

    Okay, in med school, they should teach all doctors to say that (to women) when they come in. Especially dentists!

  2. August 30, 2012 11:14 am

    Please excuse the poor grammar in that comment. I need food and then I can think punctuation again.

Have your say...

