Skip to content

adventures of c & k: days apart

September 6, 2012

 

Karl and I are used to being apart on weekdays, but not so much on weekends.  Rare is the weekend that passes without us being together at least one day, if not the entire weekend.  I believe that since we began our adventures, only three weekends have passed that kept us apart – the first was the week after we started dating when I went to my family reunion in Ohio and the other two were when Karl was out of town on business.  And while we may not spend every waking moment of every single weekend together, we do our best to make the weekends count.  So I wasn’t phased much when we had to cancel our original out-of-town plans for Labor Day weekend due to my rehearsal schedule.  As much as I wanted to visit my friend in upstate NY, I knew we would make the most of our time together.

Well, I thought we would make the most of our time together, and then Karl was invited to Nantucket for a guy’s weekend with some friends.  We discussed the opportunity before he made a decision.  I knew Karl was torn: he wanted to spend time with me of course, but he also wanted to hang out with friends.  Selfishly, I didn’t want him to go.  After all, we only see each other on weekends and this was an extra special LONG weekend!  But I took a deep breath and told him that as much as I would prefer him to stay home with me, he should go.  “After all babe, we don’t want to turn into one of those couples who can’t ever do anything apart from each other.  I will miss you, but it’s not the end of the world.  We can survive one weekend apart.”

“Well ya know, Mike extended the invitation to you too,” he said.  “Are you sure you can’t come?”

“But wouldn’t I be the only girl?”

“Yes…”

“Crash a guy’s weekend and miss two rehearsals?  Um… no thanks!  Please tell Mike I appreciate the invite and maybe next time, but you guys have fun.”

So we ended up making the most of our weekend apart.  Karl had a great time on his crazy adventure-filled road trip, and I got together with some girlfriends on Friday and Sunday nights and spent all of Saturday with Karl’s sister, Kathleen.  It was time well spent for both Karl and myself.  We missed each other something fierce (I would be concerned if we hadn’t missed each other!), which only made our reunion Tuesday night all the more romantic and sweet.  It was quite the cinematic moment when Karl picked me up from the train station for a rare mid-week visit.  A steady rainfall on the warm summer night made a glorious setting as he held me oh-so tight under the umbrella.  Talk about romantic!  Sigh…

Where was I?

Oh, right.  We spend so many weekdays apart that it is not easy giving up our weekends together, but it was worth it.  (Check us out – learning to be selfless and all!)  Absence certainly makes the heart grow fonder and we are even more appreciative of the time we have together.  Plus Karl brought me little treasures he picked up on his adventures and a beautiful souvenir.  All I did was give him cryptic details about Kathleen’s and my top secret adventure, but I know he’ll enjoy the spoils of that adventure in due time…

Have your say...

