Skip to content

adventures of c&k: k’s birthday extravaganza part 1

September 18, 2012

By the time Saturday rolled around, I was ready to burst.  I had decided nearly six weeks ago what I was going to give Karl for his birthday, and I am the worst when it comes to keeping secrets.  Six weeks is an eternity for someone like me!  I honestly don’t know how I lasted that long without telling Karl what his present entailed.  Actually, I do know.  I told other people what I was giving him.  But I kept it a surprise for Karl and that’s what counts!

Until he opened his birthday card Saturday, all Karl knew was that we would be going somewhere and that it required a good chunk of the day.  It was pretty obvious where we were going once he read “Let’s have an intrepidly fun day!”.  Karl gasped, his head flew up, and his eyes were wide with excitement.  “We’re going to the Intrepid!!” Karl exclaimed.  And giving me a huge hug said,”Babe, you are the BEST!”

“I know,” I replied.  “But only the best for the best.  Now let’s go!”

Karl and I had talked about going to the Intrepid Museum last year, and he would mention it every time we drove on the West Side Highway.  It was an obvious choice for a birthday gift and one that I knew I would enjoy too.

We had a blast!  Karl was in his element as we wandered the Hanger Deck and later the Flight Deck and the Space Shuttle Pavilion.  I was aware that Karl liked planes and ships, but I hadn’t realized his vast knowledge of them!  He would point out a plane, tell me the name of it, list a few of the specs, and mention an interesting fact or two before we reached the information plaque, which verified everything he had just said.  I was fascinated by how much Karl knew!  It was like having my own personal tour guide!  Once in a while, I would start to zone out when Karl would go on and on about the technical stuff, but I loved hearing the excitement in his voice.

Karl enjoyed every aspect of his birthday present, and I enjoyed most of it.  There was this one part when Karl wanted to tour the submarine that I wasn’t too fond of.  Submarines make me nervous, but it was Karl’s birthday so I braved the claustrophobic death trap (I think I’ve watched too many sub movies).  I barely survived the twenty minutes we were on that thing.  It was interesting; I’ll give it that.  But I sure was glad when we surfaced and made our way to the rest of the museum – above water.

Settle in for a rather long photo display of our adventure, but don’t expect a description of the planes.  I listened but I didn’t memorize anything Karl said and he’s not here at the moment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~

Part 1 of the Birthday Extravaganza is complete, but there’s more to come this weekend…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2012 8:27 pm

    Karl told us all about his wonderful day Sunday evening. I plan John’s birthday weeks/months in advance, too! I love it! Glad you both enjoyed the day. Have fun this weekend!

    • September 18, 2012 9:40 pm

      Thanks, Lindsay!!! I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to come up with anything good, but it was fun to plan! :) I’m already thinking about next year… :)

  2. September 18, 2012 10:38 pm

    Happy Belated Karl! Great job, Cecilia, keeping it a secret from Karl. :D
    It sounds like you guys had a blast (as usual)! By the way, the SR71 Blackbird happens to be one of my favorites too!!!

    • September 19, 2012 9:38 am

      Thanks, Br. Paul! I wish you could have been there! You and Karl would have had a grand ol’ time discussing planes! (P.S. I know which one the SR71 Blackbird is! It’s the black one!!! lol!) ;)

  3. September 21, 2012 9:43 am

    Thanks Br. Paul! I love the Blackbird!

Trackbacks

  1. ~7 Quick Takes Friday – Episode 16~ | Dance Immaculata
  2. adventures of c&k: k’s birthday extravaganza part 2 « she laughs at the days to come

Have your say...

