Skip to content

adventures of c&k: k’s birthday extravaganza part 2

September 26, 2012

I gave Karl his birthday present the weekend before his birthday.  (Although I failed to mention in the original post that I made him a special birthday dinner after our Intrepid outing.  Karl graciously allowed me to experiment with a new recipe, which wouldn’t be a huge deal except I was making it up as I went along.   It turned out great though, much to my relief.)

This past weekend followed up with Part 2: celebrating with a few friends at SalsaMania and O’Reilly’s Pub.  Karl and I didn’t dance much at SalsaMania; the air at the dance studio irritated my slightly-sore throat which caused an onslaught of coughing fits.  But we still had a great time watching the other dancers.

It was drizzling by the time we were ready to move to the second location.  Our friend John, who had just joined our small troupe, warned us that it had been raining off and on.  I didn’t remember seeing anything in the forecast that warned of rain, and apparently I wasn’t the only one.  None of us were prepared with umbrellas.  Lindsey N. had a rain jacket in his bag, which was graciously donated to me (the only woman among a handful of men).  It wasn’t raining that much when we left DanceSport, and a light drizzle never hurt anyone, so we pressed on to Venue No. 2, a wine and chocolate bar Karl wanted to try out.  We hadn’t even made it to the end of the block when the light drizzle transformed into a massive downpour.  I insisted we pull over and take shelter under an awning of the Empire State Building until the worst was over.

The next reprieve got us as far as 32nd St., where the guys stopped to pick up $5 umbrellas.  It couldn’t have been timed better since another downpour hit just as we arrived at the the little store.  Those umbrellas got us to the wine and chocolate bar, but it was a tiny little place and it was packed!  After some quick thinking and a phone call by John, we were on our way to O’Reilly’s which was just down the street.

O’Reilly’s was perfect!  It was comfortable, it was dry, it wasn’t crowded, and they had a lovely tv screen right in front of my seat so I was able to watch the fourth quarter of the Notre Dame game!  (The guys were mildly interested in the game, preferring NFL to college football.)  A couple more friends joined us at the pub (I was no longer the only girl!  Hurray!).  Glasses were raised in honor of Karl, conversations were enjoyed, and Notre Dame won.  It was a great way to close out Karl’s Birthday Extravaganza.

~

~

~

Have your say...

