Skip to content

sister of the bride

October 4, 2012

I have to admit it was a little difficult for me to get excited about my sister Rita’s wedding.  I was live so far away and I didn’t get to do a lot of the pre-wedding stuff with her that helps build excitement like bridal showers and dress shopping and stuff.  The wedding didn’t impact me until I was home with my sister and doing all the bridesmaid-y things bridesmaids do: getting nails done, going to the rehearsal dinner, seeing extended family, and the like.

Still it didn’t sink in until Saturday afternoon.  I had spent the morning getting myself ready and helping out around the house so Mom could go out to breakfast with Rita.  After their breakfast (and after Karl graciously brought me a latte), I hightailed it to Rita’s apartment where I sat her in a chair and went to work on her makeup.  She was running late, as brides often are, so I ended up taking her to the church.  Once there, I finished her makeup and braided and pinned her hair.

I hadn’t planned on any of that, but I was glad I could step in at the last minute.  I used to do Rita’s hair all the time when we were growing up.  When we talked about options and I explained one of my ideas, Rita said “I trust you.  You’ve braided my hair plenty of times!”  And my experience of doing my own makeup for shows was helpful, especially since Rita and I have similar features.  (So much so that several people kept mistaking me for her at the wedding.  Not sure how since it was her wedding and she was the one in the white dress!)

Then it was time for the dress.  My mom, Grace (the maid of honor), and I helped Rita into her wedding dress.  We straightened layers and layers of delicate fabric.  I secured the veil in it’s place over the carefully pinned braids and stepped back to let Mom and Grace finish adjusting.  That’s when I saw that my kid sister had transformed into a beautiful bride.  It took my breath away.  Reader, she looked amazing!  That’s when it sunk in and all the excitement I had been storing up for Rita came flooding out.

It wasn’t easy being the sister of the bride several states away, but I’m glad I was there for the important stuff.  It really meant a lot to me to help Rita prepare for her wedding and to stand up in the wedding party as she and Ted gave themselves to each other in the sacrament of marriage.

Congratulations, Rita & Ted.

~

Here’s a photo of me as a bridesmaid that I borrowed from someone’s Facebook.  (I was too busy with bridesmaid / sister of the bride duties to pick up my camera!  I’ll post more once my family members who did have cameras send me copies.)

I’m second from the left, between the maid of honor (in black) and my beautiful cousin Diana.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2012 4:55 pm

    Gahh–what a tease to post this without a photo of Rita’s hair! :) I love the shrugs.

Trackbacks

  1. ~7 Quick Takes Friday – Episode 18~ | Dance Immaculata

Have your say...

