Skip to content

starbucks wednesday ~ reinstated

October 10, 2012

Those of you who have been reading since the very, very beginning of this blog may remember Starbucks Wednesdays.  I instituted Starbucks Wednesdays to keep me on a budget.  At the time I was more of a tea drinker, but I still needed to reign in my Starbucks spending.  I did quite well for a long time, but my Starbucks budget went out the window a while ago, especially when I jumped on the latte-drinking band wagon.

I tried to stay on a budget of only a certain number of lattes or cups of tea a week, but I would end up talking myself into a little splurge every. single. day.  I’m really good at rationalizing, but that is so not good for my budget, and not just my Starbucks budget either – my overall budget was suffering.  Ugh!  So I’ve decided to reinstate the tried and true Starbucks Wednesday to get my little self back on track!

I didn’t do so great last week, but I figured it would be better to taper off my addiction rather than go cold turkey (See how that rationalization thing works?).  As for this week today, being Wednesday, I am nursing my little latte that I’ve been craving since Monday.  That’s right, reader!  I don’t know how I talked myself out of it, but I haven’t crossed the threshold of a Starbucks since Sunday (weekends are exempt from the weekday institution).  It wasn’t easy, but I survived.  And my latte tastes even better knowing that I stuck with my resolve.

Here’s to Starbucks Wednesdays and a little daily discipline!

{note: The photo is from when Starbucks Wednesday was practiced regularly.}

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2012 1:16 pm

    Cute idea!!!

  2. October 10, 2012 4:13 pm

    Major respect for this… I might have to copy. :)

Have your say...

