Skip to content

adventures of c&k: the post you’ve all been waiting for

October 24, 2012

Yes reader, it finally happened (even though some of you thought it already happened):

Karl proposed.  And I said yes.

~

It’s official!  We’re getting married!  We’ve been talking about it for a while now, so long that many people thought we were already engaged, but Karl hadn’t actually asked “the question”.  He remedied that on Saturday afternoon.  We had spent the day wandering the trails at Jockey Hollow with my parents who were visiting for the weekend.  After a late lunch, we were headed back to Karl’s parents’ house when Karl pulled into a church parking lot and said, “Babe, I just want to stop in the church and say a quick prayer.  It’ll only take a minute.”

“But Karl, they’re in the middle of mass…” I was so confused.

“It’ll be fine, babe,” he said getting out of the car.

“All of us?” I asked, still confused as to why Karl was so insistent.

“Just the two of us.  We’ll only be a few minutes.”

“Um… I guess we’ll be right back…” I said, addressing my parents in the back seat.

Karl took my hand and lead me to the front steps of the church.  He put his arm around me and I rested my head on his shoulder while he prayed.  He thanked God for our relationship and our families and a few other things.  It really was a beautiful prayer (and I really was paying attention).  Then Karl said something about how much he loved me and how we are always so busy and everything seems so rushed that there never seems to be a perfect time for things.  I told him that at least we have each other and can face the busyness together.*   Karl smiled.  The next thing I knew he was on one knee, holding a box in one hand and my hand in the other.

“Cecilia Maria Rodriguez Schwartz, will you marry me?’

I stood in disbelief for a moment.  There had been no doubt in my mind that Karl would one day ask me to be his wife, but his proposal took me by surprise.  I had waited my whole life to hear those words and there they were, asked with intense love by the man of my dreams.  I cried, reader.  And then I said yes.

Karl placed the ring on my finger and kissed me.  I threw my arms around him and said, “Yes!  Yes-yes-yes-yes!”  We stood for a few minutes in the glow of the setting sun in front of the church.

With a sparkle in his eye, Karl said, “So do you want to go tell your parents?”

I laughed and dried my eyes.  I had forgotten about them in all the excitement.  (Sorry, Mom and Dad.)  We walked over to the car to share the good news with my parents, celebrated for a few minutes with them, and then piled back into the car to share the news with Karl’s family.

So there you have it.  C & K are engaged!

~

*Karl claims I said yes before I even knew I was saying yes!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2012 7:07 pm

    I can’t tell you how happy I am for you, I am so blessed and honored to have known you Cecilia and you have inspired me as you have patiently waited for the right man. Congrat’s to you both and miss you!

  2. Danielle Vaykovich permalink
    October 24, 2012 7:21 pm

    Could not be happier for you!!!! Living proof that good things happen to good people! Congratulations!!!!!!!

  3. October 24, 2012 7:46 pm

    congratulations! sounds awesome.

  4. October 24, 2012 8:08 pm

    EEEEEEEEEE!! So good. So, soo good. :)

  5. Heather Mauriello permalink
    October 24, 2012 9:27 pm

    WONDERFUL!! SOOOOO excited for you!!! Congratulations!

  6. Doris Schwartz permalink
    October 25, 2012 8:08 am

    Congratulations – a very touching story!

  7. October 25, 2012 2:47 pm

    Cecilia: I’m so happy for you, “Mrs. Schlegelmiester”!!! ~ (can you tell, I’ve been dying to use this nickname for a while, now?) ;-)

    In case you were wondering, Karl’s proposal plans for this past weekend was the ONLY reason why you both never received my formal invitation to “The Hunt” (Far Hills Race Meeting) – I kinda knew your folks would be in town and “THE Schlegelmiestro” let me in on his secret. ..heh heh heh…

    I’m so pumped for you guys! Your blog post truly brought a tear to my eye ’cause I know just how well you both mesh with each other. What you have is incredibly sincere and honest and I believe that is a rarity in and of itself. It’s wonderful to see how your devotion brought you together. You both work hard at what you believe in and I’m certain you found each other for a reason. All my best. See ya soon!

    • October 26, 2012 10:05 am

      Aw thanks, Lindsey!! I’m glad Karl let you in on his secret. :) See you soon!!

  8. November 4, 2012 6:25 pm

    Congratulations to you and Karl Cecilia.

Trackbacks

  1. ~7 Quick Takes Friday – Episode 21~ | Dance Immaculata
  2. Faith and Dancing (October’s Dreamer in the Spotlight) « A Dreamer's Wife

Have your say...

