Skip to content

cec in the city – episode 16

January 17, 2013

When my boss sent me home from work last week, she asked me if I was able to get home on my own, otherwise she would arrange transportation for me.  I assured her that I could make it.  I only had to walk a few blocks to the train, sit on the train for a few stops, walk a half a block to the bus, sit on the bus, and then walk another block to my apartment.  No big deal.

Well, it wasn’t a big deal until I stood around on the subway platform for about fifteen minutes before learning the downtown E train wasn’t running.  All I wanted to do was lay down and sleep, but I had to get home first.  I contemplated walking to Port Authority, but only for a moment.  I knew I didn’t have enough energy for that.  So I hailed a cab.

Reader, it was the best cab ride ever!

After a few blocks, the driver checked to make sure the temperature was comfortable.  He then proceeded to tell me about the Taxi Driver Relief Act, which would allow drivers to relax in the backseat and let the passengers take the wheel.  “Everyone knows where they want to go and the best way to get there!” he said.  “Passengers are always telling me where to go and how to drive.  Once the Relief Act is passed, they can drive while I take a nap!”  His impression of New York backseat drivers was hilarious!

We bantered back and forth all the way to Port Authority.  As sick as I was, it felt really good to laugh.  I was actually grateful I was forced to take a taxi but only because my driver turned out to be New York’s sweetest cab driver.  I love the little ways the city surprises me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2013 8:33 pm

    lol, that sounded like a fine ride on the yellow cab.

  2. January 22, 2013 2:43 pm

    Oh Port Authority! I know it well. Glad it worked out for you! We should get together for coffee sometime soon.

Have your say...

