Skip to content

autism and the princess bride

February 12, 2013

princessbrideAutism is not the first thing that pops into my head when I think about the movie I watched so many times in my youth that I still remember the exact part the laser disk cut out and had to be flipped to the other side.  It was well-timed actually.  You remember after the fire swamp when Westley looks at Count Rugen with a sly smile and says “You have six fingers on your left hand.  Someone was looking for you”, and then the count whacks him over the head and Westley blacks out?  That’s where the first side ended.  Pretty clever, huh?

But that’s beside the point.  The point is I don’t associate “The Princess Bride” and autism.  That is I didn’t until this morning when It’s a Wunderful Life posted a link to an article titled 17 things “The Princess Bride” Taught Me About Autism Parenting.

~

1. Affection doesn’t have to mean saying I love you.

Reading a story to someone who’s sick in bed, saying “as you wish” or playing rhyming games that annoy your boss. There are many more ways to show love than just those three little words.

2. Optimism can get you through the fire swamp.

Just because you haven’t tackled a problem before doesn’t mean there’s no solution, even for POUS’s (Problems of Unusual Size).

3. Having a target will help you stay focused.

You don’t have the energy or resources to tackle every challenge that’s in front of you. Find your six-fingered man prioritize your goals, work out which of those you can tackle, and then pursue them with everything you’ve got.

4. You rush a miracle man, you get rotten miracles.

Click here to read the miracle man lesson and the other 13 lessons from the classic movie…

~

As you know I don’t have an autistic child, but I think these lessons are applicable to my relationship with my sister.  I realize that this also applies to many other difficult situations life throws at us, but I really enjoyed how various parts of “The Princess Bride” can be specifically applied to autism.

~

This post is dedicated to my beloved sister,

The one, The only

Angelica!

No comments yet

Have your say...

