Skip to content

new-fangled conversations

February 25, 2013

Recently, I’ve developed a habit of calling my mom on Monday evenings for a chat as I walk to the bus.  She is out of work by then, and being that it’s Monday, she is usually sitting in a waiting room while Angelica takes her music lessons.  It’s kind of fun keeping Mom company while she waits for Ang.

Today was no different.  I dialed Mom’s number as I walked out of the office and down the front steps.  We talked and talked as I plowed through the crowded streets toward the Port Authority.  We talked until Angelica’s lesson was over and Mom’s phone cut out in the elevator when they left.  Mom called back as soon as they were in the car.

“We’re in the car now!” she said.  “And Ang is here!”

“Hey, Ang!” I said.  I heard a muffled reply.  “What was that?”

“I said, Heeeeyyyyy, Ciiiiiiiil-yuhhhhhhhhh!” Ang yelled.

“Oh, hey Ang!  Sorry it’s kinda hard to hear you.”

Mom quickly explained, “That’s because you’re on the radio phone.”

Ang and I about died laughing.  “The radio phone?” I asked.  “You mean the Bluetooth?”

“Well I don’t remember what it’s called,” Mom said.  “But I can hear you through the radio!”

“It’s called Bluetooth, Mom!” Ang said giggling.

“Ok, ok!  Whatever it’s called!” Mom said as she laughed with us.

The rest of the conversation consisted of continuous teasing about the radio phone.  At one point, I lost service.  As soon it came back, I called Mom and said, “I thought your radio phone was broken, but it was me!”

Finally, Mom informed me they had arrived at home.  “So… when I turn the car off, the radio phone will turn off too.”

We all laughed.  “That’s fine, Mom.  I need to go anyway.”  We said our farewell’s and our I-love-you’s, and so ended our new-fangled conversation on the radio phone.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. melissakoski permalink
    February 25, 2013 10:52 pm

    Love this!

  2. February 26, 2013 9:33 am

    I loved that “watchamacallit radio phone thingy!!” :D

  3. Melodee permalink
    February 26, 2013 6:15 pm

    I can hear your mom saying, “Ok, ok….” :)
    She’s the best…I will try not to tease her if I see her at work.

Have your say...

