Skip to content

in the throes of lent

March 8, 2013

I don’t know about the rest of you, but Lent has been HUH-ARD!  I know I have struggles throughout the year, but everything seems to intensify during Lent.  My faults and weaknesses are magnified; my desire for the things I have given up is overwhelming; obstacles and challenges are seemingly insurmountable; and fears and concerns are exaggerated beyond recognition.  Whew!  It’s been exhausting!

There has been a minuscule oasis here and there, but nothing of great consolation or comfort, which is just as it should be I suppose during this bleak season.  During Ordinary Time I ease my anxiety with prayer and a latte, but I gave up lattes for Lent and for some reason, no matter how often or how intensely I pray, prayer just doesn’t seem to cut it these days… Sigh…

I know ‘this too shall pass’, ‘joy comes in the morning’, ‘resurrection after the cross’, and all that; I’m just ready for my Lenten misery to end.  And I really want a latte.

Have your say...

