Skip to content

adjusting to the joys of easter

April 3, 2013

I wasn’t planning on hibernating during Lent… it just happened.  My weekends were busy, but weekday evenings were spent in quiet reflection discerning, organizing, evaluating, planning, and resting (or pretending to do all of the above) at home.  I had a lot weighing on my mind and heart, and I didn’t have energy for much else, like socializing or writing or even dancing.  The hibernation was good.  I worked through the things I needed to work through.  It wasn’t always restful or easy or enjoyable; it was, after all, Lent – that lonely desert of struggles and challenges, but it is over.

It is over.  Easter is here: Christ is risen; prayers have been answered; hope has been restored; the hibernation has ended!  Woo-hoo!

I, for one, am relieved that the dark days of Lent have given way to the joyful Easter season.  I am renewed, energized and inspired after the Triduum’s liturgical celebrations, even though I didn’t get much sleep Easter weekend.  As excited as I was at the Easter Vigil and on Easter Sunday morning, the wonder and glory of the Resurrection didn’t hit me all at once.  It has taken a couple of days to get used to the bright Paschal light after such an intense Lenten darkness.  But I am adjusting and readying myself for more celebrations!

Tonight’s Easter celebration includes going to the NYC Auto Show with Karl and his cousin, Peter.  Oh, and drinking lots of wine!  I love this time of year!

Happy Easter!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 3, 2013 5:57 pm

    Ah! Have so much fun tonight! My Lent felt dark, too, especially the Triduum, but Easter is a great light. Alleluia!

Have your say...

