Skip to content

adventures of c&k: o captain my captain

April 9, 2013

I admit Karl and I have a rather strange way of celebrating Easter… On Easter Wednesday, we celebrated by going to the New York City Auto Show with Karl’s cousin, Peter.  See what I mean?  Who celebrates the Resurrection by going to look at cars?  We did, but only because the auto show happened to take place during the Octave of Easter.  So we turned it into a celebration.

It was great!  Peter and I met up for drinks while we waited for Karl to arrive.  We had a fantastic time!  I am grateful (and relieved) that Karl’s family is as wonderful as they are because my family is amazing and I would feel bad if his wasn’t.  But Karl’s family, even the extended family, is just as awesome as my family.  What can I say?  We come from good people.

Anyway, it really was fun spending time with Karl and Peter at the auto show, followed by a delicious dinner.  We didn’t get any photos of us because someone forgot to charge the camera battery (oops, my bad).  But I did use Karl’s phone to take a few photos of my geeky fiancé showing his true colors:

IMG_20130403_215323

~

He looks a little too natural sitting in the captain’s chair from the new Star Trek movie.  (Pssst! Karl used to be a Trekkie.  I still love him and accept that part of his past, which shows you how big a person I am.)  In all seriousness, I love the fact that Karl owns his geeky side and that he’s not afraid to be himself.  And he really does look good as the captain of the Starship Enterprise, doesn’t he?

Really, what better way to celebrate Easter than with family, flashy cars (though some were not so flashy), and a happy Trekkie?  Don’t answer that… I can name several more appropriate ways to celebrate.  But the car show with cousin Peter and O Captain My Captain sure was fun!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2013 11:24 am

    That picture of Karl is PRICELESS. Please frame it in your home. Seriously.

  2. Sherry in MI permalink
    April 10, 2013 9:25 am

    Hi Cecilia! I lost track of your blog address and just came across it today. It’s been several months and sounds like lots has happened! New job and you’re engaged! When are you getting married? Hope all is well in New York!

    • April 10, 2013 10:09 am

      I’m glad you found me again, Sherry! Yes, a lot has happened! :) We are getting married on August 31. We still have a lot to do by way of planning the wedding and preparing for married life, but we are happy as can be! Hope all is well with you!

Trackbacks

  1. ~7 Quick Takes Friday – Episode 38~ | Dance Immaculata

Have your say...

