Skip to content

adventures of c&k: things i always said i would never do

May 1, 2013

Most people have a list of things they never want to do, or things they refuse to do.  My list isn’t ridiculously long, but there are several things this stubborn blogger has always said she would never do, like go on a cruise and participate in a road race and read out loud.  It’s amazing the things love makes you do… because Karl and I are going on a cruise for our honeymoon.  Someone (ahem, Karl) decided to enter us in a contest and he won a cruise.  So even though I always said I would never go on a cruise, I’m going on a cruise.  Mostly because we aren’t paying for it, and partly because I know Karl is excited about going.

For years (and I mean YEARS), various family members and friends have tried to convince me to run a 5k, especially since I attended a lot of races.  But the only reason I would go was to cheer for those same people who were trying to wrangle me into running, and who would cheer for them if I was in the race?  Well guess what?  I’m running a blasted 5k… with Karl.  He wants to get back into running but prefers to run with someone (that someone, meaning me) and to have a goal to work toward.  Oh the things I do for that man!  We’re signed up for a 5k in July.

I’ve mentioned before how I feel about reading out loud.  Karl was aware of this when we decided to read The Hobbit together.  He most graciously read most of it, but there were times when for whatever reason, whether it was logistics or the batting of my eyes had no effect, I had to read.  Every time that happened, Karl would sigh happily and say, “I love when you read out loud, babe.”  (Grrrrr….)  We finished The Hobbit and have moved on to Captain Blood by Raphael Sabatini, and dang blast it, I’m making more of an effort to take turns reading.  But I think we might have to ease up on the reading; the swashbuckling tales of Captain Blood are affecting Karl.  Look what happened when we were went to a BBQ on Saturday night to celebrate a friend’s birthday (Please note that the amazing fire was built by yours truly with some assistance (You would have been proud, Dad!  I made the tee-pee and everything, just like you taught me!)):

20130427_194312“Captain Blood” challenges me to a duel with a paper plate.

~

20130427_194314Me to Karl: “I’d start a praying if I was you, Toledo.”

~

20130427_194324Posing for my victory photo.

Obviously Karl doesn’t realize the duel is over.

~

20130427_194342Never mind, he does now!  We really do love each other!

~

I always said I would never lose a duel.  At least I haven’t caved on that one!  Seriously, I can’t believe that someone as stubborn and obstinate as myself is actually doing things I always said I would never do!  And for what?!  Oh, right… for love.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2013 6:38 pm

    I just hope it isn’t a Carnival cruise! OK, just a little laughter there. :) Hope you have a wonderful honeymoon. Excellent fire building skills you’ve got there!

  2. May 10, 2013 12:31 pm

    Hi cecilia. Been a bit. Thank you for your Like on my “Sensuality of the Tango” photograph and short story. I’ll be posting more from my Sensuous Tango series over the next week. Hope you enjoy. Love the Captain Blood photos and your post. I never thought about the things I would never do. I guess because I am always saying “never say never”. Best to Karl. Harold

Trackbacks

  1. ~7 Quick Takes Friday – Episode 41~ | Dance Immaculata

Have your say...

