Skip to content

first mass

June 13, 2013

I’ll be honest… there were several moments during my brother’s ordination and later at his first mass when I thought to myself “How the hell did we get here?”.  It has been a long road not only for Fr. Charles but for all of us.  I was (and am) so excited for Fr. Charles: after years of preparation and study he was finally able to live out his vocation fully.  And I couldn’t help but think of how we had all made it to this point.  The journey began even before Fr. Charles decided to enter seminary, with much prayer, encouragement, support, and even shin-kicking.  His vocation affected all of our family members, and I was amazed, reflecting on how much each of us had grown during the ensuing years alongside Fr. Charles, with continued prayer, encouragement, support, and yes… shin-kicking (What can I say?  Sometimes a brother needs a good kick in the shin.  Who am I do deny my brother?).

Seven years in seminary seemed like forever when Fr. Charles first told us that was how long it would take before he was ordained a priest.  And then before I knew it, I was sitting in the pew behind my parents at ordination and then at his first mass.  At times it seemed surreal that my punk of a brother was going to be a priest, and yet there was something so right about it.  This was confirmed when I saw Fr. Charles behind the alter for the first time as a priest, when I saw my brother doing what God created him to do.  Reader, I only wish I could describe the intense joy that filled my soul!  (Blast it, I just made myself cry again!)  I need to go find a tissue, so I will leave you with some photos of Fr. Charles’ first mass, courtesy of my dear friend, Tennille.

br.paul

Br. Paul was the lector.

~

karl

Karl sang the Sequence

~

fr.jim

Fr. Jim, who baptized Fr. Charles, gave the homily.

~

fr.charles

~

consecration2~

fr.charles2~

mom-dad-firstmass~

fr.charles3That is one happy priest!

~

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2013 1:04 pm

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing this :)

  2. June 13, 2013 3:19 pm

    Congratulations and God bless Fr. Charles and your entire family who continue to support him in his ministry. Thanks for sharing the pictures. I love ordination pictures :)

  3. Sherry in MI permalink
    June 13, 2013 10:48 pm

    Hi Cecilia – not sure if this link will work, but here is a snippet in today’s GR Press about three ordained priests with pictures (your brother included). If the link doesn’t work, email me at rmiedema@sbcglobal.net and I will do a cut/paste for you!

    http://grandrapidspress.mi.newsmemory.com/?token=d76249dc3fe9503c9d9783569da2553b_51b9bff4_4cac

    Sincerely,
    Sherry

  4. Sherry in MI permalink
    June 13, 2013 10:49 pm

    And if it brings you to the entire online Press, you can skip to Page A15 for the article. :)

  5. June 13, 2013 11:43 pm

    How beautiful! Thank you for sharing the photos. It was so touching to see the priest who baptized him was also there to give the homily at his first mass. Really beautiful. :)

Trackbacks

  1. ~7 Quick Takes Friday – Episode 46~ | Dance Immaculata

Have your say...

