Skip to content

cec in the city – episode 18

July 10, 2013

My mind has been so muddled with wedding details lately that my daily weather analysis hasn’t been very thorough.  As a result, I found myself taking shelter in a small alcove on the side of a building during last Wednesday afternoon’s downpour because I was unprepared and without an umbrella.  I wouldn’t have minded getting a little wet from a light summer rain, but that was anything but light.  I huddled against the building until the downpour gave way to a light but steady fall.  I hurried along Broadway and arrived at Starbucks just as then next bucket of rain was released.  It was Latte Wednesday, so I made myself as comfortable as my wet self could be with a latte and a book.

Eventually the rain let up enough and my resolve strengthened enough for me to venture outside once more.  I could have paid a ride’s fare to walk through the tunnels of the subway and avoid the rain all together, but I was only a few blocks away.  So I zigzagged my way to Port Authority, trying to walk under as much scaffolding as possible, until I found myself stuck once more due to yet another downpour.  But there are worse places to take refuge from the storm than under the marquee of the Nederlander Theater, where Newsies is playing!  Highlights from my favorites songs were playing on a loop, and it took everything in me not to sing (and dance) along!

I suppose not having an umbrella had one perk: the opportunity to enjoy a little taste of my favorite musical (which I have yet to see on Broadway but it’s still my favorite)!

2013-07-03 14.55.19

~

2013-07-03 15.04.39

~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2013 1:14 pm

    Ah! How fun! I love this story. You really seized the day despite the situation!

Have your say...

