Skip to content

so…. i’m getting married!!! in two weeks!!!!!!!

August 19, 2013

Obviously I’ve been very much aware of the fact that I’m getting married.  Karl and I were preparing for marriage long before our engagement, and the past several months have been dedicated to planning our Big Day.  Our upcoming wedding is and has been a tangible reality, but it wasn’t until late last week that it actually hit me: I’M GETTING MARRIED IN TWO WEEKS!  It’s the big moment (almost) every little girl dreams about, whether she obsesses over it Jennifer-Lopez-The-Wedding-Planner style or wonders vaguely about the possibility once in a great while.  I probably landed somewhere in the middle.  Getting married hasn’t been my sole goal from the age of 4, but aside from a few years in my early twenties when I considered religious life because marriage seemed like the “default setting” rather than a vocation (ahhh, me and my youthful observations) and I balked at the idea of “defaulting”, I knew in my heart of hearts that I would someday get married.

And now I am.  IN LESS THAN TWO WEEKS!  When the little girl inside of me who always dreamed of being a bride woke up to this reality the other day, she reminded me that we’ve been waiting for this for a long time.  And then she went a little crazy with excitement.  She reminded me of Frank, the little green I-have-no-idea-what-animal-thing-he-is-supposed-to-be, from Rescuers Down Under when he realizes he’s free (example begins around the 30 second mark), except she was exclaiming “I’m getting married” instead of “I’m free”.

~

~

Perhaps if I had married in my early twenties, it would have been by default.  Marrying Karl, however, is a far cry from the “default setting” that concerned me all those years ago.  He is the most incredible, amazing option for my life, and then some!  And that makes the present me just as giddy with excitement as my inner child to be getting married IN TWO WEEKS!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Culver permalink
    August 19, 2013 2:16 pm

    Al and I send our wishes and Blessings to you and Karl. May God Bless the both of you and your marriage.
    Love and Prayers, Your Cousin,
    Al and Barbara Culver

  2. August 20, 2013 2:55 am

    How lovely!!! I hope your day is as wonderful as the little kid inside of you has always imagined! Good luck to the both of you.

    • August 20, 2013 9:28 am

      It’s funny – my wedding will be very different than what I imagined at age 7, which I don’t mind because my tastes have changed a bit. :) In fact, it is shaping up to be above and beyond what my little child’s mind could have ever imagined! Woo-hoo!

      Thanks for the well wishes!!

      • August 20, 2013 4:08 pm

        Haha if I think back about my wishes for my wedding from when I was 7….. jeez! Not good. Not good at all. Would maybe have looked something like a Big Fat American Gipsy wedding or something.

  3. Maryanne Gonder permalink
    August 26, 2013 4:17 pm

    Hi Cecilia,
    Been thinking about you for a long time now…been wanting to get in touch with you. See you on Facebook all the time…just wanted to wish you the best for your upcoming wedding this weekend. You and Karl make a beautiful couple…you both look so very, very happy.
    Josh is probably smiling down from Heaven…I still have the picture of him & you in our living room. We surely miss him so much!
    Well you take care…hope you have a blesses, beautiful day & enjoy it to the fullest. Where are you getting married…NY or your hometown?…
    Maryanne

    • August 27, 2013 3:15 pm

      Mrs. Gonder!
      So nice to hear from you! We are getting married in NJ. :) Thanks for the well wishes. We ask for Josh’s intercession every night in our prayers. I miss him too. Hope all is well with you and Mr. G.
      Cecilia

      • Maryanne Gonder permalink
        August 28, 2013 8:42 am

        Thanks Cecilia for your prompt reply…so glad to hear from you…hopefully when you are a “Mr & Mrs” we will be able to get together sometime…glad you pray to Josh for intercessions…he’s the one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        Will be thinking of you on Aug. 31st…what a day that will be…you are truly blessed…you got a special gift from God!!!!

Have your say...

