Skip to content

adventures of c & k, plus one

November 20, 2013

If you’re wondering, faithful reader, why I fell off the face of the blogosphere for several weeks, I will tell you: Karl and I are having a baby!!  I’m eleven weeks pregnant and just haven’t had the energy to even think about blogging.  Ok, that’s not entirely true.  There have been many times when I’ve thought “Oh, that would make a great blog post!” or “I’d love to blog about that!”, but that’s about as far as it goes.  Usually one of two things (or both) will happen: either I don’t have the energy to create a coherent sentence or I get distracted by never-ending waves of nausea.

Reader, you may be experiencing a reaction similar to the most common reaction we’ve had to our news: WOW!  That was fast!  Yes it was, and we couldn’t be more thrilled!  We knew we wanted our marriage to be blessed with children and were hoping we wouldn’t have to wait long.  Karl’s excitement is much more apparent than mine, as mine is masked by fatigue and morning sickness that lasts ALL.DAY.LONG.  But we are both over the moon about our little miracle of life – the first of many, we pray.

So far, the pregnancy has been rough.  I was honestly not expecting that.  My mom wasn’t this sick during her pregnancies.  Tired – yes, and a little sick – but not this much.  I figured I’d follow in her footsteps, but alas… I didn’t.  That’s ok.  I am just grateful that the nausea is not accompanied by vomiting*.  I keep reminding myself and Karl that feeling sick is strangely comforting, because it means our little muffin-in-the-oven is growing.  And I know this too shall pass.  The first trimester will soon be behind us, and I pray that with it will go the fatigue and nausea.  It’s not a guarantee – I realize that – but here’s hoping it will soon pass so I can have the energy to actually show my excitement (and return to blogging and to dancing)!

~

c&k-554Just C & K on our wedding day… no Muffin, yet…

~

*I’ve tried a lot of the remedies recommended for nausea, but none of the typical ones work for me.  I’ve learned to live with it.

End Note: I can’t believe I wrote a whole blog post!  With more words than pictures!  What a day!  Usually I go to work, come home, and sleep on the couch until Karl makes me eat something and/or makes me go to bed.  This blog post makes me feel incredibly accomplished.  I also managed to do the dishes and sweep today!  Whoa!  I think I’ve met my quota for the week.  Nothing but eat, sleep, and relaxing for me for the rest of the week!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2013 10:37 pm

    Oh, thank goodness for this post! I’m so excited for you guys!

    For weeks, when my mom says, “What’s new?” I’ve been biting my tongue :) Tomorrow, the secret will be revealed! She’s going to be THRILLED for you guys.

    Love you, Lindsay

  2. November 20, 2013 10:38 pm

    That photo is gorgeous. So excited for you guys!!

  3. Lisa permalink
    November 20, 2013 11:09 pm

    Congratulations!
    I felt the same way with my pregnancies and kept the same work, sleep, up to eat and back to bed schedule.
    Praying you feel better soon. I felt like a different person at 14 weeks. Hang in there gorgeous!

  4. November 21, 2013 12:20 am

    Congrats! It does get better! :) I’m in the second trimester right now and the morning sickness seems so long ago.

  5. November 21, 2013 12:49 am

    Congratulations Cecilia! Wonderful news! Keep persevering. The morning sickness should pass soon.

  6. Sherry in MI permalink
    November 21, 2013 8:57 am

    Congratulations to you both!!! So happy for you! Will look forward to future blog posts and pics of your growing belly! :)

  7. Maryanne Gonder permalink
    November 21, 2013 11:36 am

    Congratulations…what a blessing…a gift from God!!!…Josh is probably smiling in Heaven.
    Love, Maryanne & John

    • November 21, 2013 5:07 pm

      Thanks, Mrs. G! I am incredibly grateful for Josh’s intercession for me and my growing family!! Love & miss you!

  8. November 21, 2013 4:05 pm

    Congratulations! I am so happy for you both!

  9. November 21, 2013 9:41 pm

    Congrats!!!

  10. Melodee permalink
    November 21, 2013 10:01 pm

    What wonderful news! :) And yes…the first thought in my mind was what you said.
    Congratulations…How exciting! I cannot wait to see the pictures your mom will share with us.

  11. November 23, 2013 5:16 am

    Wwowwww how awesome!!! Congratulations :-)
    And what a gorgeous picture of you and Karl !

    • November 25, 2013 12:01 pm

      Thanks and thanks! :) That’s one of my favorite photos from the wedding!

      • November 25, 2013 2:25 pm

        I can totally see why it is!

  12. Alaina permalink
    November 24, 2013 12:43 pm

    Please accept my belated congratulations. I’m sure you’ll be a wonderful mother, and Karl, a wonderful father.

Have your say...

