Skip to content

cecilia bedelia reads a book

January 16, 2014

I was a little skeptical of how I would transition when I purchased a Kindle Fire HD last year. I bought it out of necessity. I love to read but found it difficult to haul around the monstrous unabridged volumes of literature with which I often challenge myself. A Kindle would be much easier to transport, I told myself. And it is. I have transitioned well, I think. I still love reading from an actual book; feeling the weight of the story in my palms and the texture of each page as I journey with the characters and the smell of the aged paper… sigh… But the Kindle gives me a whole library at my finger tips! I’ve been able to return to conquering the classics since they no longer weigh me down (physically), as well as continue to explore other genres.

I recently finished reading Dickens’ David Copperfield (recently as in yesterday), which was an undertaking both exhilarating and frustrating. Still, I was a little surprised the other day when Karl brought up choosing another book for us to read to each other and said quite adamantly, “Just not Dickens. Anything but Dickens!”

“Why not? What’s wrong with Charles Dickens?” I asked.

“Well, Babe… You don’t seem like you are enjoying David Copperfield at all. It’s not that I don’t want to read something challenging; I just want to enjoy whatever we’re reading.” Karl shrugged. “I’m not as serious of a reader as you.”

“I am enjoying the book!” I insisted.

Karl pointed out that I keep complaining about it. “That’s because I’m invested in the characters, Babe! Of course I’m going to get frustrated and complain when Davy makes foolish decisions based on his undisciplined passions, immature boy that he is! Sometimes he makes me so mad I want to throw the book across the room, but I can’t because I’d break my Kindle. Grrr! So there is that… and Dickens tends to go overboard on some of his descriptions… I appreciated his descriptiveness to a point. Some are quite captivating, but others are incredibly boring, and I didn’t think all of them (especially the boring parts) were imperative to the story!  Which I know is why there are abridged versions of the book…”

“See, you’re getting frustrated again!”

“Point taken. I won’t make you read Dickens.”

We still haven’t decided what our next literary adventure together will be, but as for myself, I am thinking I might finally conquer Don Quixote…

And for those who are wondering David Copperfield redeemed himself, and I was quite pleased with the way his story ended.

No comments yet

Have your say...

