Skip to content

the muffin chronicles: prologue – week 29

March 26, 2014

2014-03-20 21.32.41-1 (1)This kiddo is a mover and a shaker! And getting quite strong too. While Karl and I were on our official honeymoon last week, we turned my belly into a map of the United States so I could tell him where the Muffin Action was happening. I started by dividing it into quadrants (northeast; southeast, etc.) and ended up needing more specific names of regions. Our child has visited every part of the US, via our belly map. Currently, Muffin is partial to Montana (near my right ribs) and Florida (in my left hip) – at the same time, mind you. Both the East Coast and the West Coast are visited frequently, with the baby sometimes venturing into the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans. Middle America gets a few visits now and again, as does Texas, but this child is seriously loving on Montana and Florida, much more than I would prefer (my rib could use a rest from the extra pressure).

Another thing that took place frequently on our honeymoon was something Karl calls “Muffin Dialogues”. Since we were together constantly, Karl was able to have more conversations with the baby. Said conversations were/are incredibly sweet, endearing and often amusing. Hearing them made me laugh or cry or both. He kept the baby up-to-date on everything we did throughout our honeymoon and promised Muffin we would go back when he/she is older to see all the interesting things Dad was talking about. Karl is such a great dad!

Pregnancy is full of beautifully strange things happening to my body, but one of the more amusing things that has occurred to me since becoming pregnant has been laughing attacks. I’ve always laughed readily and easily. I still laugh readily, but there is no longer such a thing in my life as a good, easy laugh. Nope – it’s full blown hysterical “I-can’t-catch-my-breath-My-chest-hurts-OMG-I’m-going-to-wet-myself” laughter or barely anything at all. I feel like the “I Love To Laugh” guy from Mary Poppins! The smallest, most ridiculous thing can set off a laughing attack. Like the time Karl and I were laying in bed saying night prayers and he prayed for “all the people we usually pray for” but I heard “all the people we don’t like to pray for”. I’m not sure why I found that so funny, but I laughed hysterically for a good 10 minutes! I always worry that I’m going wet myself, and the thought of that makes me laugh even harder! It hasn’t happened yet, but it’s only a matter of time considering how many times a day I run to the bathroom. Karl tries to distract me from whatever is making me laugh because it really does hurt my chest to laugh that hard, but his attempts usually result in more laughter.

We are both getting more and more excited to meet our little bundle of energy. We keep telling the baby that we can’t wait to meet him/her, but that we are willing to wait because Muffin has a while yet to finish “cooking”.

Two trimesters down, one to go! Exciting times ahead!

IMG_0636 (1)

 

~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2014 3:13 pm

    Crying… Happy tears of course but yeah.. Crying

  2. March 26, 2014 9:50 pm

    Look at that beautiful baby bump! Can’t wait to see you guys this weekend!

Have your say...

