Skip to content

parenting songs

January 28, 2015

2014-12-28 13.02.21-1Agnes is not a fan of her carseat. She doesn’t like being restrained, but who does? She has gotten used to it and is fine for short periods of time. She tends to fall asleep in her seat, especially if we are in the car around nap time. This tends to happen on Sundays afternoons on our way home from mass because her morning nap is cut short due to choir practice and the post-mass coffee social creeps into her afternoon nap time. I usually let her sleep it out in her carseat once we get home.

This Sunday I ran to the store while Karl stayed home with the napping Agnes. Karl informed me when I finally made it home after fighting the crowds at the grocery store that Agnes was MAD when she woke up and found herself in the carseat. So later on that evening, I found myself trying to get Agnes excited for another car ride. Somewhere from the deep recesses of my brain came a little tune, and with a big smile I busted out with “Let’s go ride in the car-car! Let’s go ride in the car-car!”

“It’s something my dad used to sing,” I explained to Karl as we drove to shoe store. “I don’t know where it’s from. I have a feeling it is one of those folk songs Dad loves so much, but it doesn’t sound like a real song. I wonder if he made it up.”

After a series of text messages, my dad informed me that it is indeed a real song. “I thought it was recorded by folk artist, Bill Staines,” his text message said, “but I can’t find it in iTunes by him. I know he sang it in concert. Woody Guthrie recorded it as the Car Song. Darby Gerking recorded it as Let’s Go for a Ride in the Car.” Later another text came in: “Found another version: Arlo Guthrie; Riding in My Car in album Woody’s 20 Grow Big Songs.”

I laughed. All I wanted to know was whether or not it was a real song or something crazy he made up, which I told him in a text. Dad replied that he did make it up and those other fellers stole it from him. I rolled my eyes. That’s my dad.

People always say that you start emulating your parents as you get older, especially once you have kids. I am mostly okay with that. My parents have many amazing qualities I would be proud to inherit. My father’s passion for folk music, however, is not one of the qualities I ever wanted to or thought I would acquire. Sigh… But there I was on Sunday afternoon, heaven help me, singing like my dad.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosario Rodriguez permalink
    January 28, 2015 4:28 pm

    Ohmigosh, it’s really real!?!?!? I… just… I… can’t… Um… So. Weird.

  2. January 28, 2015 10:36 pm

    Your dad is hilarious!

  3. Sherry in MI permalink
    February 2, 2015 9:06 am

    So sweet, another great memory for the scrapbook!

Have your say...

