Skip to content

small benefits, big blessings

September 29, 2011

This morning, Lindsay at Young Married Mom shared some of the Benefits of Being a Short Mom, including the fact that she doesn’t have to bend over to support her one-year-old son as he learns to walk thus saving her back from pain. 

This afternoon, I was reminded of another benefit of being short (and small): I get more umbrella coverage than the average person.  Even small umbrellas protect my entire circumference from getting wet.  Not only that – since the umbrella is closer to the ground when I hold it, a good section of my upper body is protected.  I’m sure there’s some sort of geometric equation that includes triangles or degrees of angles or something like that*, that could prove my theory (If you want to figure it out, Charles, please feel free).  But I saw the proof with my own eyes as I walked down the street huddled under my little umbrella.  All sorts of folk, taller than myself, had torsos speckled with rain drops!  Sure my legs were getting wet, but I was dry from the waist up… until the wind would blow and then my theory fell apart.  But overall, it was obvious that my small stature was much drier than anyone elses.  Sah-weet!!!

Now if only I had read the entire forecast this morning and wore my rain boots… Oh well.  I’m just glad I’m short and (for the most part) dry! 

Examples:

No Coverage: the unfortunate and unprepared

Partial Coverage: those of average height

Full Coverage: short and dry, if you’re not splashing around (note the deep plié)

*I was impressed that I at least knew that much!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 7:11 pm

    I always figured the biggest benefit was not having to worry about legroom on airplanes, but you’re right–umbrella coverage is a bonus, too :)

    • September 29, 2011 11:00 pm

      Ahhh…. I forgot about that! I love extra legroom on airplanes!! I have a feeling we could put together a pretty long “short pro” list. :)

Have your say...