Skip to content

cecilia bedelia vs. the snooze button

November 19, 2011

I read this great litle piece of spiritual insight yesterday over at The Curt Jester and just had to share it!

In the spiritual life it is so easy to hit the snooze button on a more dedicated life of prayer. On alarm clocks the snooze button lets us pretend we are setting a goal by setting the alarm knowing that we can also just keep hitting the snooze button to advance that goal just a little bit farther into the future.

Read the rest…

I wish I wasn’t so blasted addicted to my snooze button.  It was good to be reminded how this little habit can creep into other areas of my life, especially with the Liturgical New Year just around the corner.  Looks like I’ll be adding ‘eliminating the snooze button’ to my list of liturgical resolutions!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 5:12 pm

    Wow, so true. I just hit this point a week or two ago, and with Confession yesterday and Advent on the horizon, I am ready to stop hitting the snooze button on my prayer life. I’m not sure about the physical snooze button next to bed yet, but I guess now’s the time!

Have your say...